Vania Vitae

Short accounts of my life.

24 Things I’m Thankful For

2 Comments

Thursday the 6th was my 24th birthday.  I didn’t have huge plans for the day other than dinner after work, nonetheless it was great. My day included a small Birthday Cake Oreos surprise from my siblings, daily Mass, a Google Hangout with my boyfriend ( he is currently in another country), calls, notifications, and Peking duck!

Peking duck for dinner

Peking duck for dinner

If you mentioned to me two weeks ago that my birthday was coming up, I probably didn’t sound excited about being 24. Thursday came around and I was reminded I have plenty to be thankful for, especially the little things,  in my life and the past year of being 23 years old.

Here are 24 random things I’m thankful for in no particular order:

  1. My older sister adding me to her Costco account recently. I have my own card and it felt like getting my license.
  2. Living minutes away from 495 and 295. I enjoy NoVa and DC and the easy commuting most days.
  3. Google. I wish I was brilliant enough and close enough to work for the company. Thanks for my e-mail and Google Hangout so I can talk to CK!
  4. Being around growing families with young children. I like big families and I’m offended for them when people ask or comment about the amount of children in their family.
  5. Church -including Mass, the Sacraments and Adoration. The true meaning of awesome.  God and the Catholic faith. I’m always struggling and learning.
  6. Netflix and Hulu.  They are feeding my TV addiction.
  7. Sangria and Mojitos. YUM.
  8. Acquaintances to good friends  to best friends. I enjoy conversation and time together no matter where we are and how long it is.
  9. My bed. It’s so comfortable that I get up 30 min later than I plan to everyday.
  10. My job and it’s location. It’s good work to get me started as an adult. The 45min to 1 hr commute is worth it  because there’s a mall, 2 Starbucks, a Wal-Mart, Target, Best Buy, Michaels, and everything else nearby when I need/want to buy things
  11. My crazy and loud family.
  12. Polite and kind strangers that make me smile !
  13. Rude people that help me practice patience.
  14. My parents who support and love their children in their opposite ways.
  15. My dog Timmy recovering from hind leg paralysis due to a herniated disc.
  16. Meeting new people.
  17. Baking.
  18. Worship music.
  19. Communities. Social, Church, and/or both.
  20. Divergent, the book series. I like imagining dystopian futures. They are more realistic to me than magic.
  21. Michaels sales and coupons.
  22. Health Insurance. Doctor and Dental visits are expensive.
  23. Outdoor adventures.
  24. Electric fans and air conditioning.

Yup, random . There’s so much more I am thankful for! I just wanted to write another list.

*Update after starting my draft*

My boyfriend and best girlfriends planned a cute Sound of Music themed breakfast and then a surprise lunch on Saturday. I thought it would be just the girls but I was deceived in a good way. I was happy to see my sorority Little and another childhood buddy (not pictured)! Very sweet you guys! I am so thankful and appreciative of this and for all of you.

After our surprise lunch at an Austrian restaurant.

After our surprise lunch at an Austrian restaurant.

Another year of life, let’s go!
Time to sleep. I’m still not sleeping right on weekdays.

2 thoughts on “24 Things I’m Thankful For

  1. I LOVE YOUR COVER PHOTO THING. I loled at work when I noticed it!

Leave a comment